Viewer mail.*

MizFit,
I’m 54, overweight and out of shape. Once thin and buff, serious back problems and peri-menopause has given me a”blob” like shape.

My cholesterol spiked and I’m now taking medication. My blood sugar is high normal – our family is genetically predispositioned to diabetes – both types.

After raising three sons, we adopted a baby from Guatemala. Do the math – I’ll be parenting well into my senior years.

Sure, I keep up with her and work a few hours a day. My friends are impressed.

I am not because my body is aging; I feel it happening.

I whined to a you already and you told me to get on our treadmill for five minutes a day to start.

I bucked – I detest walking and getting no where.

I begged my hubby to let me walk our three dogs in the evening while he watched our daughter.

He agreed & I know he wants my thin buff body back although he never says a thing – he values his life.

Now, each night in the cold I take a brisk twenty minute walk. My dogs are in heaven. When I return home with cold rosy cheeks I feel fabulous and have even slowed down on the “night snacking.”

I’m at the place where anything you suggest I will try to do. I’m desperate and I trust you.

You’re reasonable but don’t accept excuses.

This is not just about me, but about keeping in shape for my daughter. I don’t want to be using a walker at her high school graduation and in a wheel chair at her college graduation. She deserves more – I deserve more.

Overweight & Out Of Shape

First? I have to say that while this letter is, indeed, from a ringer (is that the word I want? plant?) it’s also from a woman Ive never been fortunate enough to meet in person but with whom Ive been working/coaching/encouraging for a while.

One important piece of her email JUMPED right out at me and has two parts: she initially asked my advice, flatly refused (and proffered MYRIAD creative excuses) but then (without even telling me) she JUST DID IT.

She realized that (and this is key!) her daughter deserved more and she deserved more.

She decided that she was *worth it* (that’s all Im gonna say for now as we shall revisit that sentiment again & again & again.)

That’s the first part.

The second? She didnt take my advice about doing the treadmill because she KNEW it wasnt something she’d enjoy (and yes, I realize we’re using the term “enjoy” loosely).

Instead she created her own routine–complete with the canines she adores–and has, as a result, started walking down her path to success.

Take a minute. Think about what you used to enjoy doing when exercise wasnt something you HAD to do but an activity you did for FUN!

Jumprope? Dancing? Forward rolls? Pogo Stick-ing? Hip-hop dance?

I dare say that many of our initial responses might be (accompanying *eyeroll*) nothing—but I also venture to say that it’s because we’ve all bought into the notion of attaching a MUST or a SHOULD when thinking about doing anything physical.

We’ve lost the ability (unlike my Toddler Tornado) to do things with our bodies without an ulterior (read: weight loss) motive.

Take a moment.

Make a list.

What was the last thing you experienced physically where, when you finished, you thought: DANG, I FEEL ALIVE!

I’ll start you off with mine (get yer minds out of the gutter): going headfirst (at aforementioned Tornado’s insistence) down a slide.

Now that might not end up as my workout routine–but it was a good clue to me that I need to get my butt off the stationary bike and on the monkey bars a little more often.

It reminded me how much I used to love to HULA HOOP and, while doing so as a kid, never once had a mental ticker going with regards to how many thin mints Id hoop’d off!

You??

I know it sounds silly but whatever it is MAKE the time for it. (all together now) You’re worth it.

*Ive always wanted to say that and it’s *finally* applicable since I sucked it up & hauled out the video camera.

13 Responses to Viewer mail.*

  1. Trace says:

    Hmmm, I’ve mentioned that I have MS. Before diagnosis I never exercised or watched my weight. After having to take steroids and packing on a few pounds not to mention the fatige that accompanies MS I decided to embark on a more nutritious diet and exercise on a regular basis. I really like exercise classes so I searched for one, and it became part of my routine. After 6 months I began to see results and I found that I liked the way I looked! And yes, I did it because I love myself and wanted to be around for many years…NOT in a wheelchair or walker. Plus, if my health condition did progress I didn’t want to think if only I had done this…

  2. Julie Lussier says:

    i have to think on this post A LOT.
    more comments later.

    me? worth it? WOW, mind boggling.

    treadmill – i hate and have on my “list” of to dos daily.
    humm, maybe I really need to think about what I am worth.
    and what I want.

    STRONG message today Mizfit. I am out and about all day and i am going to print this and re read this again.

    DEFINITELY MORE LATER.

    You rocked my world today.

  3. MizFit says:

    Trace? I love your words of NOT wanting to ever look back and think “what if I had…” food (pun intended fer ya Missy :)) for thought for ME this morning.

    and Julie? YOU made MizFits day. Thanks for making the time to read what I have/my friend had to say but more than that thanks for taking something away with you…for REALLY READING.

    thats why Im making the time to do this.
    You *are* worth it.

    M.

  4. Tricia says:

    This post resonated with me.

    I’m committed to taking care of everyone (pets, kids, hubbie, family, friends, clients, coworkers, yada yada yada) in my life but terrible at taking (or is it MAKING?) the time for me. I struggle with feeling selfish, self-centered, yada yada yada but **I** deserve some time & I shall make it & take it today

    Thanks lady

  5. MizFit says:

    Tricia,

    I do think it’s TAKING.

    DEMANDING?
    Im certain you make the time and then surrender it? (ok Im not certain but I shall venture to guess :))

    Im so selfish in my one hour a day. NON-NEGOTIABLE.

    makes me a better MizFit.

    M.

  6. Forty year old on in-line skates. Bliss.

  7. MizFit says:

    AMEN, EY, AMEN.

    M.

  8. Karen says:

    Trying so hard to get back to the treadmill regime. I DO feel better when it is used in the manner for which it was created but it looks so comfy with the afgan draped over it stylishly.
    Okay I’ll do it. Now where is that ipod ??

  9. P says:

    Yer right, time to get up and moving. Perhaps I will take the toddler who does not toddle to the mall…good people viewing for her, and not really a workout but at least it’s not just sitting on the couch for me. Tis raining here and so an outdoor walk is out o the question.

    Not that I’ll buy anything. My legs would never forgive me. 😉

  10. MizFit says:

    Karen? I say keep the afgan. our treadmills get cold at night. your assignment? yank it off once a day.

    and P? lemmie know if you saw a kool aid suit whilst you walked said mall. Im waiting for mine to be fed ex’d as a surprise gift from REEBOK.

    M.

  11. Great post (and I loved the video below, too–the video camera work came out great despite all your caveats.)

    It’s so cool that this woman found a way to get the exercise she needed in the way that worked the best for her–very inspirational! I think exercise plans have to be personal to work for the long haul, there’s no one-size fits all.

  12. MizFit says:

    Um, shall I cue the confetti?

    What’s the protocol when yer secret blog crush stops by?!

    Thank Crabby.

    I aspire to be near to the humorousity which art thou.

    M.

  13. morison dony says:

    Can you provide more information on this?

Leave a Reply

